Peugeot and Citroen springs again.

Earlier in these posts I refer  to the way some peugeots and citroens have a habit of shredding their  front tyres when a coil spring breaks, mentioning a modification made under recall by the manufacturers consisting of a retaining shroud fitted around the base of the coil spring seat.
The above is an example of the retaining shroud in place, what cannot be seen in this instance is that the coil spring has broken and that the shroud has done its job and prevented the broken end of the spring falling down and shredding the tyre. The following image clearly shows how the spring has broken but remains securely on the spring seat. 

I should also mention that I have seen a broken spring that has managed to slip through the base of the shroud, so it seems it is not always successful in retaining the broken spring in place.

14 comments so far

  1. sfj642 on

    please note that Peugeot do NOT (at this time, February 2012) fit the spring catcher, though I believe Citroen do on some models.

    see my page http://tinyurl.com/6q4tmw5 to see what happened to the car my wife was driving with our 4 year old grandchild.

    Peugeot are presently denying there are any safety implications caused by sudden tyre deflation when a spring breaks.

    Jim Butterworth

  2. Edward Hatfield on

    I have a peugeot 307 about 6 years old, 75000 miles. Front nearside spring apparently broke while parked in hotel car park. there was a clonk when I tried to drive off. My local dealer Marshals of Cambridge did the repair Free with out me having to ask. Very pleased with the service but a bit alarming as I had been driving on the M11

    • sfj642 on

      Edward – if you look at the bottom coil of the spring (can just about see by looking between the tyre and the wing) – do the new springs have a split polythene tube around them?

      It would be interesting to know if ANY of this modified design have broken so far ? The problem is not caused by potholes, but by the spring corroding at the point it leaves the lower spring pan.

      Fortunately (so far) the majority of failures have been when the car has been stationary – I do hope none of the miilions out there (Peugeot 1007, 207, 307 etc) and Citroen C3 never break at speed – the consequences could be horrendous.

      Still waiting to hear back from VOSA as I have brought it to their attention.

      • Edward Hatfield on

        I did not see the old spring. the new one does not loog protected to me.

  3. sfj642 on

    Thanks for checking, Edward

  4. Ben on

    Hi Gents,

    The O/S/F spring has just failed on my 2007 Peugeot 307 SW 1.6 Diesel after 90,000 miles. I realise springs breaking isn’t just an issue for PSA vehicle’s and is becoming more of an issue across the board. Like a lot of other stories the spring fortunately failed when the car was stationary. I’d have preferred that it had not happened at all but this was definitely the lesser of two evils. The spring managed to take out £90 worth of tyre in the process.

    Peugeot still do NOT (at this time, February 2013) fit spring catchers to 307’s nor are acknowledging there are any safety implications caused by sudden tyre deflation when a spring breaks (when the car was dragged up on to the low loader the deflated wheel and tyre was locked up – I dread to think what would have happened at any other speed on the road!).

    The 307 has been a great car in every other way and I intend to keep the vehicle. I however consider this problem to be a major safety issue and would like to prevent/minimise the risk of a serious accident in the future. I assume Citroen are making spring catchers for Citroen C4’s (which is mechanically similar to the 307). On this basis I’m interested if anyone has fitted a C4 spring catcher on to a 307. If so I would grateful if someone could let me know the part numbers I’d need to order.

    Ben Garston

    • sfj642 on

      Ben – the VOSA site doesn’t show any recalls for front spring breakage for the 307 or the C4 so the chances are that they won’t have commissioned spring catchers for these models. Fortunately my Peugeot 1007 has the same suspension as the Citroen C2 so I have been able to fit spring catchers along with new springs.

      Check out your new spring – it may have a polythene cover over the bottom coil. I think this is the Peugeot answer to spring breakage though if one does, the front tyre could still get stabbed.

      Peugeot’s official answer, relayed by VOSA (so they won’t take any action) is that you should always walk around a Peugeot before driving to check that all the wheel ride heights are correct. The incident with my wife’s car was therefore totally my wife’s fault for not (on a freezing day and with grandchild in tow) checking all wheel heights before she drove the vehicle. The fact that she was travelling at 25 mph and over a mile away from home seems to have evaded their scrutiny.

      VOSA are a waste of Government money as there have been other complaints of stabbed tyres on PSA (and Fiat incidentally) vehicles both when moving (as in my wife’s case) and stationary. My MP has been gagged and he has been unable to get a response from them.

      How many mysterious single-car accidents are due to front spring breakage I wonder? The mangled car remains would have major frontal damage so the condition of the springs would not be checked.

      I suggest you go back to the independent manufacturers of the spring catchers – Suplex UK Ltd. They don’t appear to have a web site, but contact page is here http://tinyurl.com/a3hzh6w

      • Ben on

        Hey, thanks for the reply sfj642,

        I’ve read your comments and thoughts on your website. VOSA’s retort to you is BS to be frank – the general public are being treated like idots! 😦

        On Tuesday morning last week I got in to my car as normal to go to work. At which point there was a loud noise, not too dissimilar to how I’d imagine a shotgun would going off in the cabin of the car. I like to think that I’m mechanically minded so at that point I got out of the car to walk around it, everything appeared to be normal (the car was level with gaps between the top of the wheels and wheel arches as they should have been) and all tyres where still inflated. It wasn’t until I tried to gingerly drive off that the tyre deflated and the whole front of the car took a nosedive to the tarmac. Even then I didn’t know what had gone on (no nails or glass around). I extricated the spare tyre and jack from the rear of the car expecting that I just had to change the wheel. It wasn’t until I tried to jack the car up I noticed how low the car was at the front. Once I jacked the car up I could see what the issue was. This brings me back to the advice VOSA gave you which would have helped me not one iota (and doubt it would have helped your wife either)! This IS a major safety issue.
        I wouldn’t mind but the car some 6 days prior to the coil failing had been to the Robins and Day Bristol, a Peugeot main dealer, owned by Peugeot UK, for a service and MOT (which it had passed)!

        I have owned the car for over 2 years now. I use it on a daily on a professional basis, it is the best, most comfortable car I’ve ever owned. I can put my hand on heart and categorically say it’s been really well looked after during my ownership, not driven up or down kerbs when parking or in to pot holes/manhole covers (I go out of my way to drive around such obstacles).

        On the Friday after its service and MOT I drive the car to London with my family in it (a journey of 222 miles most of which the cruise control was set to 70mph) – I thank my lucky stars the coil didn’t fail then as it would have been a whole different story I can assure you!

        The main dealer did phone Peugeot UK to see what they had to say and to see if they’d make a good will gesture towards the cost of repair. Peugeot UK dismissed the issue regardless of the fact that it’s got a full Peugeot service history on the basis that the car has 90,000 miles on the clock, is 6 years old and I’m the second owner!

        I feel Peugeot UK and VOSA are completely missing the point here and something needs to be done! Credit where it is due the dealership did offer me preferential prices to get the car back on the road but this still amounted to over £400. I took it to a reputable mechanic and he’s replaced both front coils and a bracket for £230 – still without the car as he’s doing some other bits and pieces whilst it’s off the road.

        Cheers Ben

  5. Chan on

    Does anyone know if a Peugeot back spring will fit a Citroen c2 2004 1.4 ?

  6. citroenc3owners on

    The cup modification to a Citroen C3 saved the tyre (and the subsequent embarrassment) on this 2002 model after one of the front springs broke. There are some pictures here http://citroenc3owners.com/citroen-c3-tips/jangling-sound-from-the-front-while-driving-broken-spring-t711.html

    • sfj642 on

      I am not a member of the C3 forum – but can I add this picture to my web-site on the Peugeot 1007 please? It would appear on page http://tinyurl.com/o2ct9ry complete with CitroenC3owners.com watermark. Many thanks – Jim Butterworth


Leave a Reply

